(Il)Logical Progression

Random Musings by the Truly Random

A Fresh Start – Back to Basics

It’s hard to believe, sometimes, that time has passed the way it has.  It’s been over a year, almost two, since I last posted to this blog.  And a lot has changed since I started this little endeavor…

  • It’s been nearly a year since I last played World of Warcraft and even longer since I was part of Lords of the Underworld, the guild I spoke of so passionately here.  Stuff happens, I guess – that drama I spoke of previously – and it seems that no matter how one tries to avoid it, it happens.  It’s not a bad thing in the long run, though, and I still feel that the people who are still running in that guild are good people.  Differences arose, and I had to move on.  It was a good experience, too, the moving on – I met new people, led players into battle successfully in Icecrown Citadel, and helped many people get their Kingslayer title.  I even was competitive for a while, having joined a serious raiding guild – Less than Four – who gave me the chance to take my game as far as I could, and complete the normal version of Cataclysm‘s raid progression while it was fresh.  I was proud to be a part of that, and sorry to have left, but thankful that I saw the excitement of end-game content that I’d only heard about from others in this game and others.  It was quite a ride.
  • A change in work venue – change in industries (from finance to public utilities) – a change in job status (fighting to gain permanency in a temporary world).  New co-workers.  New friends.  New experiences.
  • Evolution in some of the other hobbies I’ve written about.  Magic seems more popular than ever – with card prices rising everywhere (and my brother calling me in fits trying to figure out what the best time to sell will be), and the game going more mainstream.  Warmachine/Hordes (or WarmaHordes as it’s being called unofficially now by the players) evolving into a new edition, with new rules, books, and even a new medium (the ‘Heavy Metal’ game going plastic for some of their models).  And Games Workshop, still trying to perfect the formula for making money, while boosting Privateer Press’s WarmaHordes sales at the same time…  Even my hobbies feel crazy.
  • Fantasy is becoming more mainstream.  HBO’s Game of Thrones was an awesome move to make it more accessible, while CBS’s Legend of the Seeker was not quite so much.  Brandon Sanderson seems to be creating waves, as Robert Jordan’s successor (to finish The Wheel of Time series), and on his own (The Way of Kings by all accounts puts my favorite Mistborn trilogy to shame).  Heck, even my mother’s reading fantasy due to HBO.  It’s scary.
  • Golf.  Bowling.  Going out with friends to have a good time.  I knew I was missing out on stuff.  It’s quite a ride these days, and one I’m glad to be experiencing while I’m not too old to enjoy it.  And country music…  Country must be country-wide.
  • And on a good note, I’ve finished a few games now – something that I haven’t done in a very long time.  Uncharted 1-3 and Assassin’s Creed 1 are part of a very short list of games actually finished, and I’ve got to say, there’s merit to finishing games just to see where they go, even if it’s not finished at 100% completion.  Maybe more will hit that list, soon.

And so here I am – writing again.

It’s back to basics… and I’m feeling good about it.  It’s nice to put pen to paper, or rather letters to a screen, and just talk.  To who?  I don’t know, and I don’t know if it’s that important.  And for once, I’m just talking, rather than writing in response to something I read.

Interestingly, I feel compelled to write at the moment.  Like it’s something I’ve needed to do for a while, just because expression of this nature is really a part of me, even if I’ve only done it in scattered bursts so far.

And even more strange is the fact that I never actually met that which nudged me back into writing at this time – a guinea pig named “Mortimer”.

Now, Mortimer was the guinea pig pet of a friend of mine, and has since passed on from this world, so I won’t have the chance to meet him.  He came up randomly in conversation, a conversation that had involved writing, but was mostly talk.  His owner described him as “A bitter, fat guinea pig,” and “A guinea pig everyone knew,” and while I’m not entirely sure why, it led me to talking about a story that I’d started writing over a year ago – one that I’d had ideas for, and unlike many other story ideas I’d had in the past, the ideas were still hanging around.  And I saw Morty as a small, probably fluff character in that story, which led to me talking all about that story to his owner.

And talking, and explaining, and answering questions, and thinking, and forwarding a copy of the only existing chapter.

And the more I thought about it, the closer my pen came to paper.

And here I am – dusting off this blog and writing again.

Images of Mortimer the guinea pig familiar, riding on the shoulder of his owner-mage got me thinking about all the other ideas I’ve had for my story.  I’ve begun to think again about pseudomagic and souls, terms which are relatively meaningless at this point, but could lead to something.  A set of twins – priestesses opposite in look and personality, but both facets of an old friend who had lent me her ear the first time I tried to work on this idea.  A foreign merchant – good-hearted but oddly distrusting, to the point that he “wouldn’t do business with himself”, if the situation arose.  And the end of the first part of the story, clear as a movie scene in my mind, and yet, who knows what it will look like on paper?

In the end, I feel that I need to get this out there, just to see what could be.  For an audience of one or an audience of thousands, it doesn’t matter.  My friend, the one who will be lending me Mortimer, at least, has agreed to test-read this stuff, so I have an audience.  It feels a bit strange.

But I’m on the path again.  I’m looking down that road to the horizon, and I don’t see a destination.

My foot moves, and I find myself walking again, down that path,  and I’m smiling.

On the road next to me, a bitter, fat guinea pig is scampering along.

My 2 yen,

Akiosama

December 30, 2011 - Posted by | General Musings | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

